The List

I finally break the silence on my blog with a first-time fiction on a guest blog for Sid Balachandran – Author at I Wrote Those, Photographer at I Took Those, winner of more awards than my fingers can handle, a cooking enthusiast who can whip up eye-popping scrumptious chocolate sinfuls and last but not the least, a work-at-home Dad ! Now that’s what’s called breaking stereotypes ! Sid maintains delightful catalogs of his parenting escapades at Daddy Journals.

A wonderful blogger friend, I got introduced to Sid through his most delightful post about an ever-perennial problem – Finding the right pair of Jeans. Here’s his kickass post – Fashionista ? I think not!

Sid is a master in the craft of fiction.So, when he invited me to write a fiction post for his blog, I went ‘Ulp’. Fortunately he gave me enough time to hammer something together, so here I am – with my first-ever true-blue fiction !

-oo-

Buy groceries. Pay bills.

Indu crossed out items from the to-do list, on the laptop and leaned back with a palpable sense of relief. Only few more left to go. Unfinished things rankled and nipped at the edges of her consciousness. Resigning to the fact that ‘Cleaning the closet’ was too daunting to be attempted immediately, she stretched wearily and headed to the bathroom.TheListThe street lights were casting long shadows through the window. The haggard reflection in the bathroom mirror revealed an average looking woman. With the hair pulled back severely away from the face, into a tight bun and the round horn-rimmed glasses, her face appeared unflatteringly mousy. Shoulder length hair tumbled down as the strangling metal pins were pulled out and neatly stacked inside the medicine cabinet. Deciding to take a quick shower, she ran the hot water in the tub. A strange prickling sensation caused her to glance at the door which creaked open slowly inwards. She suppressed a scream, as the bottle in her hand fell with a dull clunk and scattered small white pills all over the floor.

Read the full post on Sid’s blog…
http://www.iwrotethose.com/2015/05/06/the-list-by-asha-vishwanathan/

16 thoughts on “The List

  1. Wow! I love the intro. Had to pinch myself twice (ok…thrice) to make sure you were talking about me.

    It’s a pleasure to host you on my blog, Ash. And going by the comments that are rolling in, you’ve aced this ‘fiction’ section too. Another feather in your cap, my lady!

  2. Wow! Exceedingly well-written, Asha! More polished writing than most people who have been regularly writing fiction on blogs. You are a lady of many talents 🙂

Leave a Reply

